2018 Twilight Racing Challenge sponsor: O'Reilly Auto Parts       2018 Division Sponsors: Sportsman Modifieds - Peanut's Auto, Canaan, NH         Sportsman Late Models - Homestead Creations, Bristol, NH        Outlaw Mini Stocks - Rand's Hardware, Plymouth, NH
Racing on Fridays
Gates Open4PM
Hot Laps6PM
First Green Flag7PM
May through September

O'Hearn Cops Second Sportsman Modified Victory This Season
Submitted by: AW on 2018-05-28 at 01:02

The O'Reilly Auto Parts Twilight Racing Series saw Derek O'Hearn take his second win of the young season in the Peanut's Auto Sportsman Modifeds, Travis Smith won his first of the year in the Homestead Creations Late Model Sportsman and Jason Porter make a late race pass to win in the Mini Stocks. The Bear Ridge Sportsman Coupes also made an appearance with veteran Bob Shepard topping the field.

Derek O'Hearn bolted into the top spot before a lap was complete in the Peanut Auto Sportsman Modifieds with Jeff Huntington claiming second and T.C. Forward settling into third. The running order stayed the same until Todd Buckwold worked his way by Forward to claim third. Just two laps later the caution flew for an incident involving Richie Simmons and Ryan Christian in turn four. When the green flew again O'Hearn once again annexed the lead and started to pull away from the field. O'Hearn then survived one more caution to take the win with Todd Buckwold second and Jeff Huntington third. Ricky Sanville and T.C. Forward completed the top five.

The Homestead Creation Late Model Sportsman Main Event saw lots of action up front. At the drop of the green Matt Pike bolted into the lead with Travis Smith a strong second. Smith applied constant pressure to leader Pike until he was able to complete the pass for the lead coming out of turn two with nine laps complete. While the battle up front raged, Jesse Durkee and Toby Stark were dueling for third, with stark eventually getting the nod for the spot. At the checkers it was Travis Smith claiming the victory with Matt Pike second and Toby Stark third. Jesse Durkee and Scott Heath rounded out the top five.

The Rand's Hardware Mini Stocks saw Nitro Nick Comeau claim the top spot when the initial green flew. Comeau first held off the repeated challenges of opening night winner Erin Aiken and then later Jacob Brown applied intense pressure to leader Comeau. While the battle up front was intense Jason Porter was quickly working his way towards the front from his 18th starting spot, arriving in third at the halfway point of the race. Just two laps later Porter claimed second and set his sights on leader Comeau. After challenging for the lead for a handful of laps Porter was able to secure the lead when Comeau slipped up slightly coming out of turn two. At the checkers it was Jason Porter with the win, Nick Comeau was a strong second with Jacob Brown third. Mike McClay and Erin Aiken were fourth and fifth respectively.

The Bear Ridge Speedway Sportsman Coupes were also on hand with Bob Shepard leading from wire to wire to take the win, Chris LaForest, who started scratch on the field was second with Tad Kingsbury third. Tanner Siemons and Todd Hayward completed the top five.

Joining the regular divisions of the O'Reilly Auto Parts Twilight Racing Series this week will be the Granite State Mini Sprints making their second appearance of the year.

The Legion Speedway is located on Route 25 at the Wentworth/Rumney NH Town line with racing every Friday Night at 7:00 PM. For more information visit www.LegionSpeedway.com

Images courtesy of Big Al's Photo

Unofficial Results-Legion Speedway, Friday May 25th 2018

Peanut's Auto Sportsman Modified Feature

   1. Derek O'Hearn
   2. Todd Buckwold
   3. Jeff Huntington
   4. Ricky Sanville
   5. T.C. Forward
   6. Richie Simmons
   7. Ryan Christian
   8. Wayland Childs
   9. Lenny Pillsbury
   10. David Heath

DQ-Jason Sanville

Homestead Creations Sportsman Late Model Feature

   1. Travis Smith
   2. Matt Pike
   3. Toby Stark
   4. Jesse Durkee
   5. Scott Heath
   6. Bob Crawford
   7. Nicholas Longley
   8. Tyler Trembley
   9. Russell Coutu
   10. Kelly Miller-DNS
   11. Josh Busino-DNS

Rand's Hardware Mini Stock

   1. Jason Porter
   2. Nick Comeau
   3. Jacob Brown
   4. Mike McClay
   5. Erin Aiken
   6. Kevin Harran
   7. Austin Tallman
   8. Mike Lique
   9. David Flanders
   10. Justin Stockman
   11. William Partridge
   12. David Durkee
   13. Tim St. John
   14. Tim Davis
   15. David Comeau
   16. Eric Prescott
   17. Cody Copeland
   18. Sean Lantas

Sportsman Coupes

   1. Bob Shepard
   2. Chris LaForest
   3. Tad Kingsbury
   4. Tanner Siemons
   5. Todd Hayward
   6. Brian Chaffee
   7. Earl Maxham
   8. Kevin Dickinson
   9. Matt Ellsworth

DQ-Derek Stearns



Thank You to the 2018 BillBoard Sponsors!

Sportsman Modifieds: Jason Sanville

Late Model Sportsman: Matt Pike

Mini Stocks: Rich Willey

Race Track Admission Grandstands
Seniors 62+ and Juniors 12-17$8.00
Kids 11 and under$2.00
Family Pack$25.00
Pit Gate Admission
Track conditions:

Website Hosted by:


Home Schedule Points & Results Media
Mini Stock Drivers Pure Stock Drivers Super Street Drivers Sportsman Modified Drivers
About Us Sponsors Directions Contact Us