2018 Twilight Racing Challenge sponsor: O'Reilly Auto Parts       2018 Division Sponsors: Sportsman Modifieds - Peanut's Auto, Canaan, NH         Sportsman Late Models - Homestead Creations, Bristol, NH        Outlaw Mini Stocks - Rand's Hardware, Plymouth, NH
Racing on Fridays
Gates Open4PM
Hot Laps6PM
First Green Flag7PM
May through September

Derek O'Hearn Dominates Opening Night for the Sportsman Modified Win
Submitted by: AW on 2018-05-13 at 18:06

Opening night at The Legion Speedway played to a nice crowd in the stands with the Granite State Mini Sprints joining the Peanut's Auto Sportsman Modifieds, the Homestead Creations Sportsman Late Model Sportsman and the Rand's Hardware Mini Stocks of the O'Reilly Auto Parts Twilight Racing Series.

Derek O'Hearn, who started on the pole as a result of winning his heat race, zipped into the lead at the drop of the green never to really be challenged, easily maintaining the top spot after each caution to take the dominating victory. Todd Buckwold and Jeff Huntington swapped the runner-up position a few times with Buckwold claiming the spot at the checkers. Huntington was third with Lenny Pillsbury fourth and Tanner Siemons fifth, after coming from the rear being part of the first caution of the night.

Images courtesy of Big Al's Photo

The Homestead Creations Late Model Sportsman saw Travis Smith jump to the lead when the green flew. Smith maintained the lead through a few cautions but was the cause of the next yellow as he spun out of the lead in turn three and collected Jesse Durkee in the process. Toby Stark assumed the lead after Smith's problems and went on to take the win. Smith made a nice recovery and claimed second at the checkers with Tyler Tremblay finishing third in his first start in a Late Model. Scott Heath was fourth with Jesse Durkee fifth.

Erin Aiken started fourth on the grid but claimed the lead before a lap of the Rand's Hardware Mini Stock Feature was complete. Aiken would lead the rest of the way to take the win but it wasn't easy as she faced intense pressure from Jacob Brown, even momentarily losing the lead while fighting through lapped traffic. Following Aiken across the line was Jacob Brown in second, Mike Lique third, defending Mini Stock Champion Rich Willey fourth and David Flanders fifth.

The visiting Granite State Mini Sprints saw Joe Kemp jump to the lead in the 500cc feature, leading until the halfway mark when William Pinkham Sr cruised into the lead. It was not to be for Pinkham Sr though as he started to slow with a miss in the motor allowing Tom Chaffee to take the top spot. At the Checkers it was Tom Chaffee for the win with early leader Joe Kemp second and William Pinkham Sr holding onto third. Eric Relation and Riley Chaffee completed the top five. In the 600cc class it was all Tyler Jones as he led 19 of the 20 laps going on to take the win. Tony Shaw finished second with rookie Brady Lamotte third. William Ostertag and Nick Ostertag rounded out the top five.

This Friday night joining the O'Reilly Auto Parts Twilight Racing Series regular divisions will be the Wingless Auto Club with the night concluding with an Enduro.

The Legion Speedway is located on Route 25 at the Wentworth/Rumney NH Town line with racing every Friday Night at 7:00 PM. For more information visit www.LegionSpeedway.com

Unofficial Results-Legion Speedway, Friday May 11th, 2018
Peanut's Auto Sportsman Modified Feature
Derek O'Hearn
Todd Buckwold
Jeff Huntington
Lenny Pillsbury
Tanner Siemons
Jason Sanville
Wayland Childs
David Heath
Robbie Lacroix
Brent Warren
Ricky Sanville
TC Forward
Andy Badger-DNS
Homestead Creations Late Model Sportsman Feature
Toby Stark
Travis Smith
Tyler Tremblay
Scott Heath
Jesse Durkee
Matt Pike
Rand's Hardware Outlaw Mini Stock Feature
Erin Aiken
Jacob Brown
Mike Lique
Rich Willey
David Flanders
Chris Conroy
Austin Tallman
Tim St. John
Sean Lantas
Eric Prescott
David Comeau
Nicholas Comeau
Jack Cook
Jason Gaudette Jr-DNS
Granite State Mini Sprint Club-500cc
Tom Chaffee
Joe Kemp
William Pinkham Sr
Eric Relation
Riley Chaffee
Matt Collins
Tyler Vickery
Cody Willette
Nate Martell
Terry Balla
Carson Williams
Dustin Lamotte
Bill Black
Triston Puffinburger
William Pinkham Jr
Ryan Farewell
Doug Boisvert-DNS
Logan Osmer-DNS
Granite State Mini Sprint Club-600cc
Tyler Jones
Tony Shaw
Brady Lamotte
William Ostertag
Nick Ostertag
Mark Wiggett
Zach Herbert-DNS



Thank You to the 2018 BillBoard Sponsors!

Sportsman Modifieds: Jason Sanville

Late Model Sportsman: Matt Pike

Mini Stocks: Rich Willey

Race Track Admission Grandstands
Seniors 62+ and Juniors 12-17$8.00
Kids 11 and under$2.00
Family Pack$25.00
Pit Gate Admission
Track conditions:

Website Hosted by:


Home Schedule Points & Results Media
Mini Stock Drivers Pure Stock Drivers Super Street Drivers Sportsman Modified Drivers
About Us Sponsors Directions Contact Us