2018 Twilight Racing Challenge sponsor: O'Reilly Auto Parts       2018 Division Sponsors: Sportsman Modifieds - Peanut's Auto, Canaan, NH         Sportsman Late Models - Homestead Creations, Bristol, NH        Outlaw Mini Stocks - Rand's Hardware, Plymouth, NH
Racing on Fridays
Gates Open4PM
Hot Laps6PM
First Green Flag7PM
May through September

Chris Murray Cops Season Finale
Submitted by: Alan Ward on 2016-10-02 at 11:03

Chris Murray had never seen the Legion Speedway before arriving to compete in the season ending Sportsman Modified Run-What-You Brung event Friday Evening for the Sportsman Modifieds. The Redraw for the Main Event put Murray on the outside pole and he took full advantage of the starting spot, jumping into the lead at the drop of the green leading all 50 Laps of the event to take the win, which was worth $1400.00 thanks to bonus money added by season long division sponsor Peanuts Auto. While Chris Murray may have led the entire distance he had to deal with the yellow flag flying seven times. The battle for second through fifth was at times intense with positions changing almost every lap. Randy Howe, who started on the pole finished second, but at one time had slipped all the way back to fifth. Adam Pierson was third when the dust settled with Derek O'Hearn and Ryan Avery completing the top five.

The Bear Ridge Sportsman Coupes were also on hand. The redraw put Gene Pierson Jr on the pole and at the drop of the green he jumped out to a large lead which he held until Brian Chaffee slipped into the top spot on a restart. Pierson Jr later returned the favor reclaiming the lead on the next restart. Pierson Jr would lead until the last caution, which came out with three laps to go. On the restart Jason Horniak got the jump, led the last three laps and claimed the win. Melvin Pierson would slip by Brother Gene Pierson Jr for second with Pierson Jr third. Brian Chaffee and Chris LaForest rounded out the top five

Images courtesy of Alan Ward

Also on had for a non-points race were the Sprint Cars of New England. Ryan Avery jumped into the lead at the drop of the green and led the entire way of the caution free event for his first win in a Sprint Car. Christine Boesch was a distant second, a career best for her in SCoNE competition. Jake Williams was third with Chad Turk fourth and Dennis McLeod fifth.

The Wingless Auto Club completed the program with their initial race. Veteran Ice racer Mike Horsch took the win with Dan Bowne second and Courtney Prentice third.

The season is now complete for the O'Reilly Auto Parts Twilight Racing Series and the annual Banquet of Champions is scheduled for November fifth.

Images courtesy of LINMAT Photo

Legion Speedway-Unofficial Results 09/30/16
Peanuts Auto Sportsman Modifieds (50 Laps)
1.   Chris Murray
2.   Randy Howe
3.   Adam Pierson
4.   Derek O'Hearn
5.   Ryan Avery
6.   Billy Lussier
7.   Derek Graham
8.   Chad Miller
9.   Jim Boardman
10.  Jason Sanville
11.  Matt Lashua
12.  Todd Buckwold
13.  Brian Whittemore
14.  Ricky Sanville
15.  Tom Placey
Bear Ridge Speedway Sportsman Coupes (25 Laps)
1.  Jason Horniak
2.  Melvin Pierson
3.  Gene Pierson Jr
4.  Brian Chaffee
5.  Chris LaForest
6.  Earl Maxham
7.  Bob Shepard
8.  Todd Hayward
9.  Jason Colbeth
10. Shenia Covey
11. Robert Tucker
Sprint Cars of New England (25 Laps)
1. Ryan Avery
2. Christine Boesch
3. Jake Williams
4. Chad Turck
5. Dennis McLeod
6. Kevin Chaffee
7. Tyler Austin
8. Will Hull (DNS)
Wingless Auto Club
1. Mike Horsch
2. Dan Bowne
3. Courtney Prentice
4. Wade Prentice




Thank You to the 2018 BillBoard Sponsors!

Sportsman Modifieds: Jason Sanville

Late Model Sportsman: Matt Pike

Mini Stocks: Rich Willey

Race Track Admission Grandstands
Seniors 62+ and Juniors 12-17$8.00
Kids 11 and under$2.00
Family Pack$25.00
Pit Gate Admission
Track conditions:

Website Hosted by:


Home Schedule Points & Results Media
Mini Stock Drivers Pure Stock Drivers Super Street Drivers Sportsman Modified Drivers
About Us Sponsors Directions Contact Us